The Beauty of Our Minds and I Can Read Yours

Standard

ImageOriginal source and marvelous artwork is from:marvelitesxmen.wordpress.com. My speech bubbles.

If you have read my ‘All About Me Section‘ then you will know that I battle it out with Genoralised Anxiety Disorder or GAD, Panic Disorder (according to my consultant) and Depression. If you did not know that then feel free to visit my ‘all about me’ section… Do it, it’s quite quirky…

To begin with I will mention that Professor Charles Francis Xavier or Professor X for all you comic fans out there, is well known for being the founder of the X-Men and has the ability to read minds (telepathy) which involves: the ability to control a person’s mind as well as reading them. I won’t bore you with an on-going list of Prof. X’s abilities, unless you want me to?…

If you do, then I simply can not be bothered… so click here if you’re really that interested!

***

So, for all of you who are wondering what the hell this has got to do with me, then I shall tell you…

I will, I promise.

But first, I will bore you with some brief background information as some of you who haven’t read my ‘All About Me’ won’t have a clue. Hint Hint.

I have been battling with anxiety for as long as I can remember, I’m only 22 and I believe I’ve had this since I was 8, probably sooner. For those of you who are unaware, my problems included the general fear of most day-to-day things such as: answering the door or phone, going to places I didn’t know or places that were too ‘open’ and had crowds etc. I was and still am in fear to say the least and it’s these fears which would cause me to have a panic attack. I thought as a teenager that it was just a phase I was going through… Something that would pass with age. I would say such things to myself like ‘When I’m 16, It will pass’ or ‘when I’m 18, I’ll go out more, possibly on my own.’ But, for some reason, nothing seemed to have changed. I was in denial.

So here I go into explaining my comparison between Prof. X and I.

When you have something Like GAD there are some things that you do that you don’t realise that you’re doing. One of these is Mind Reading!

***

Mind Reading n. the apparent ability to discern the thoughts of another

***

We all do it I guess, well that I wouldn’t know exactly because the fact is: I cannot read minds.

But, I know that I believe I can and it’s become an almost habit of mine which I am trying to break. It doesn’t matter who the person is whether they are male, female, young, old, tall, short etc. I believe to some degree that I know what they’re thinking.

She’s Fat!”

“What the F*** is she wearing?”

“Her roots are bad” (I must admit they are pretty bad at the moment.)

“She’s a useless mother”

The list is pretty much endless.

***

It was a little over 2 years now, I gave birth to my daughter. She is the most precious thing in my life and as my anxieties got worse due to PND (Post-Natal Depression), I begun to realise that I needed help.

You don’t realise it but you start to understand that you are NOT the only one.

There is so much help out there now for people with mental illnesses such as GAD and depression and there are plenty of options to choose from to aid you in getting the help you need and WANT.

One charity I will mention but haven’t had the help from as of yet is called MIND which is a charity that not just helps people with mental illnesses but also try and make people more aware of such things as anxiety and depression. My dearest friend Alyshia, a graduate in psychology, done a hell of a lot for this charity in terms of raising money for them at the University she was attending. She told me they raised over £1,000 which of course is a major help! One day, I will do the same to show others, like me that it is possible to control it and live with it.

My psychiatric nurse told me that I will have GAD and depression throughout my whole life and it will come and go a bit like an annoying friend who pops in now and again when you least expect it! Not long ago I finished a course of CBT (Cognitive Behavioral Therapy) which teaches you how to analyse your thoughts in a way that you become aware of what you’re thinking and how to change it. I’m not going to lie, I find it rather difficult.

There are many people out there who will ridicule people such as myself and I put it down to people not understanding much about mental illness and in all fairness the awareness needs to be raised. Hopefully, perhaps with this blog post, I can raise it a little!

***

For all of those who may have similar thoughts and symptoms as I do and are seeking help then or for those who are interested then please take a look at MIND‘s Website. Also, If anyone knows of any other charities for mental health issues then please comment a link to their websites on this blog post! I’m not quite sure if there’s a USA version of MIND.

So, to conclude…

Remember, if you’re suffering with any mental illness, you’re not the only one.

AND

For those who know someone with a mental illness, maybe a friend or family member, then support them; lend an ear. I’m sure you can’t read minds too!

2 thoughts on “The Beauty of Our Minds and I Can Read Yours

Leave a Reply

