The Wolverine

Standard

I know, I know… I should be training for my important and upcoming battle with a certain Captain Awesome which is taking place on Saturday BUT Luke and I have been watching many films this passed weekend! (Its the least he can do after putting up with Breaking Bad for weeks)…

Now we all know I like films… you didn’t? Okay, I am telling you now… I like films… just not the scary ones!

It wouldn’t make sense for me to watch a scary film when I am scared all of the time…

Anyway, Luke walks home from work with our friend SuperSam (mainly for Luke’s protection but don’t tell him I told you… someone must watch over him when he’s off gallivanting, making cups of tea for the sick.)

SuperSam recently bought The Wolverine when him and Luke made a “stop” at Sainsburys… This also led into a debate whether they both should buy Battlefield 4… Sam did the next day but Luke is getting it off my Mom for Christmas so he needs to wait a little longer… (Now that it matters because I unknowingly bought him GTA and he spent all day playing it yesterday). Anyway, SuperSam leant us The Wolverine but to Luke’s surprise, I didn’t want to watch it till we finished Breaking Bad! (Seriously, you can’t just start watching something else in the middle of something… that’s just bizarre.)

After we watched Breaking Bad (click here for my moan review) I decided that we could finally watch Hugh Jackman and his half-naked self for a bit…

Even though in the opening of the film, I got more than my fair share of a topless Hugh Jackman…

He went from this

To having his skin ripped off during an Atomic Bomb explosion where he saved a man’s life…

No, I couldn’t find a picture but he looked a bit like the Zombie guy from The Mummy

And then he went to this…

 Don’t worry… all is not lost…

A few painful moments later, he went to this…

Okay… that is enough pictures!

It’s not, you say? Well, maybe I’ll give you another one if you’re all a bunch of good readers and carry on reading…

NO CHEATING!

***

So, usually we see Wolverine amongst the other X-Men films but this time, he has gone solo after the death of a certain Jean Gray and honestly, I don’t recall them having any romantic moments… so I don’t quite understand their “relationship”…

Jean… the pain of a woman that she is… is seen many times during the film all dressed in white and beautiful on a bed next to Logan… (Clearly he had been drinking far too many beers because again.. I do not recall them having a “relationship”) They would be having conversations about her “waiting for him” up in Heaven… I am sure Scott Summers died too… Shouldn’t he be up there too? Or if he’s still alive than maybe she should be waiting for him… Or Logan is obviously being delusional…

I for one like the delusional option…

Anyway after a bar fight over a grizzly, he is stopped by a woman with red hair (what is it with women with red hair and this bloke)… who asks him to go to Japan with her and say goodbye to a man he once saved… (the man he saved from the Atomic Bomb)…

She was also the one who kindly gave him a make over because her adopted grandfather could not be seeing Logan in this way…

I couldn’t agree more…

The old man (and my google senses say that perhaps I should look up his name because I can’t be calling him “The Old Man” every time…)… Yashida… that’s better… is strapped up to some machine and he asks Logan if he could miraculously give him his healing powers because surely he must be wanting to die now after seeing another person he loves die.

Obviously, he says no… (there would be no film if he said yes anyway)… He leaves after Yashida tells him that “they all want to kill her” (meaning his granddaughter… not the red-headed one…). Logan sees Mariko (the not-so-red-headed-granddaughter) get hit by her father and he runs after her as she tries to jump off the cliff…
It turns out that everything that Yashida owns goes to her after he dies…
And he did in fact die…
She was meant to get everything…
And everyone seemed to be coming after her… The Yakuza even made an appearence…
Logan, the kind soul that he is… decided that he would protect her from well… everyone… including her father…
It would seem that it didn’t take him that long to get over Jean…
And this quite inevitably led to Mariko getting captured…

It got pretty action filled after that… even the red-haired woman came back to help Logan as the Snake-woman had suppressed his abilities… (sorry I forgot to mention that all important detail)… See Luke isn’t the only man who needs a woman’s protection sometimes…

Overall, I really enjoyed this movie although it was a little predictable and no I am not going to tell you what happens because then you won’t watch it but it involves a robot. I do enjoy myself a good film with a little bit of martial arts within it! In fact it had the perfect amount of martial arts for a film like The Wolverine.

Personally I will give it a 9/10… Only because of Jean lying in bed with him ruined it for me!

I’m joking!

Now, like I promised, here is another picture of Wolverine, just for you!

I didn’t say it was going to be Hugh Jackman though!

If you fancy reading another post I wrote about Wolverine then click here. 

13 thoughts on “The Wolverine

  1. I really liked the movie, too, though my kids say I only liked it because Jackman has his shirt off a lot. Which isn’t true. Though it doesn’t hurt…

    Thanks for visiting my site. I appreciate it! I couldn’t get your Breaking Bad link to work, though. Just got an error message.

  2. Oh too funny. The world would be so much more interesting – and our brains less mushy – if we didn’t have the internet to consult every time we couldn’t think of something. “The old man” is who he is. 😉
    (Not that I’ve seen the movie, but ya know!) Heheheheh.

Leave a Reply

